Marquette University

JUDAISM AND CHRISTIANITY IN ANTIQUITY          Section Description

Dr. Joshua Burns Joshua Ezra Burns, Ph.D. (Hebrew Bible, Classical Judaism)
Assistant Professor
Marquette Hall 342; (414) 288-6776
joshua.burns@marquette.edu
Michael Cover PhD

Michael Cover, Ph.D. (New Testament, Paul, Philo of Alexandria)
Assistant Professor
Marquette Hall 340; (414) 288-7648
michael.cover@marquette.edu

Dr. Deirdre Dempsey Deirdre A. Dempsey, Ph.D. (Old Testament, Languages)
Associate Professor
Marquette Hall 313; (414) 288-3747
deirdre.dempsey@marquette.edu
Dr. Julian Hills Julian V. Hills, Th.D. (New Testament, Johannine Literature)
Associate Professor
Marquette Hall 315; (414) 288-3776
julian.hills@marquette.edu
Rev. William Kurz, S.J. Rev. William S. Kurz, S.J., Ph.D. (New Testament, Johannine Literature)
Professor
Marquette Hall 312; (414) 288-7148
william.kurz@marquette.edu
Andrei A. Orlov, Ph.D. (Christian Origins, Pseudepigrapha, Enoch)
Professor
Marquette Hall 310; (414) 288-6802
andrei.orlov@marquette.edu
Dr. Sharon Pace Sharon Pace, Ph.D. (Hebrew Bible)
Associate Professor
Marquette Hall 331; (414) 288-7503
sharon.pace@marquette.edu
HISTORICAL THEOLOGY        
Michel R. Barnes, Ph.D. (Greek and Latin Patristics, Augustine, Gregory of Nyssa)
Associate Professor
Marquette Hall 334; (414) 288-3735
michel.barnes@marquette.edu
Dr. Patrick Carey Patrick W. Carey, Ph.D. (Catholicism in America, Orestes Brownson)
Professor, William J. Kelly, S.J., Chair in Catholic Theology
Sensenbrenner Hall 303E; (414) 288-7189
patrick.carey@marquette.edu
Dr. Mark Johnson Mark F. Johnson, Ph.D. (Thomas Aquinas, Medieval Moral Theology)
Associate Professor
Marquette Hall 350; (414) 288-7646
mark.johnson@marquette.edu
Dr. Ulrich Lehner Ulrich L. Lehner, Dr.Theol. (Catholic Reformation, Enlightenment)
Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies
Marquette Hall 327; (414) 288-7333
ulrich.lehner@marquette.edu
Dr. Mickey L. Mattox

Mickey L. Mattox, Ph.D. (Reformation Studies, Martin Luther)

Associate Professor
Marquette Hall 323; (414) 288-3736
mickey.mattox@marquette.edu

Dr. Marcus Plested Marcus Plested, D.Phil. (Patristic, Byzantine, and Modern Orthodox Theology)
Associate Professor
Marquette Hall 325; (414) 288-3740
marcus.plested@marquette.edu
Dr. Saint-Laurent Jeanne-Nicole Saint-Laurent, Ph.D. (Syriac Studies, Early Christianity)
Assistant Professor
Marquette Hall 338
jeannenicole.saint-laurent@marquette.edu
Rev. David Schultenover, S.J. Rev. David G. Schultenover, S.J., Ph.D. (Roman Catholic Modernism, Post-Enlightenment)
Professor
Marquette Hall 333; (414) 288-3165
david.schultenover@marquette.edu
Dr. Zemler-Cizewski Wanda Zemler-Cizewski, Ph.D. (Medieval Scholastic Theology, Twelfth Century)
Associate Professor, Library Coordinator
Marquette Hall 322; (414) 288-3741
wanda.cizewski@marquette.edu
SYSTEMATIC THEOLOGY          Section Description
Dr. Lyle Dabney D. Lyle Dabney, D.Theol. (Pneumatology, Theological Anthropology)
Associate Professor
Marquette Hall 328; (414) 288-3744
lyle.dabney@marquette.edu
Rev. Robert M. Doran, S.J., Ph.D. (Systematic Theology, Method, Bernard Lonergan)
Professor, Emmett Doerr Chair in Catholic Systematic Theology
Marquette Hall 318; (414) 288-3164
robert.doran@marquette.edu
Fr. John Laurance SJ Rev. John D. Laurance, S.J., Ph.D. (Liturgical Studies)
Associate Professor
Marquette Hall 311; (414) 288-3734
john.laurance@marquette.edu
Dr. D. Stephen Long

D. Stephen Long, Ph.D. (Systematic Theology, Theology and Postmodernity, Theology and Economics, the Theology of Karl Barth and Hans Urs von Balthasar, Theological Politics)
Professor
Marquette Hall 321; (414) 288-3215
d.stephen.long@marquette.edu

Dr Masson Robert L. Masson, Ph.D. (Philosophical Theology, Fundamental Theology, Systematics, Karl Rahner)
Associate Professor, Department Chair
Marquette Hall 115G/326; (414) 288-6952
robert.masson@marquette.edu
Rev. Joseph G. Mueller, S.J., S.T.D. (Ecclesiology, Patristics)
Associate Professor, Assistant Department Chair and Director of Graduate Students
Marquette Hall 115J; (414) 288-6884
joseph.mueller@marquette.edu
Dr. Danielle Nussberger Danielle K. Nussberger, Ph.D. (Systematic Theology, Hans Urs von Balthasar)
Assistant Professor
Marquette Hall 346; (414) 288-3749
danielle.nussberger@marquette.edu
Fr. Joseph Ogbonnaya Joseph Ogbonnaya, Ph.D. (Lonergan's Philosophy and Theology, World Christianity, Theology and Development)
Assistant Professor
Marquette Hall 348; (414) 288-7647
joseph.ogbonnaya@marquette.edu
Dr. Irfan A. Omar Irfan A. Omar, Ph.D. (Islam, World Religions)
Associate Professor, Director of Assessment and Course Scheduling
Marquette Hall 337; (414) 288-3746
irfan.omar@marquette.edu
Dr. Jame Schaefer Jame Schaefer, Ph.D. (Theology, the Natural Sciences, and Technology; Religious Foundations for Ecological Ethics)
Associate Professor
Marquette Hall 329; (414) 288-3742
jame.schaefer@marquette.edu
Fr. John Thiede SJ Rev. John S. Thiede, S.J., Ph.D. (Christology, Latin American Theology, Martyrdom)
Assistant Professor
Marquette Hall 344; (414) 288-7156
john.thiede@marquette.edu
Dr. Susan K. Wood, SCL Susan K. Wood, SCL, Ph.D. (Ecclesiology, Ecumenism, Sacramental Theology)
Professor
Marquette Hall 335; (414) 288-1967
susan.wood@marquette.edu
THEOLOGICAL ETHICS         
Rev Lucas Chan SJ PhD

Rev. Lúcás (Yiu Sing Luke) Chan, S.J., Ph.D.(Catholic Theological ethics, Virtue ethics, Biblical ethics)
Assistant Professor
Marquette Hall 330; (414) 288-6522
yiusingluke.chan@marquette.edu

Michael K. Duffey, Ph.D. (Social Ethics, Peace and Justice Issues)
Associate Professor
Sensenbrenner Hall 303B; (414) 288-3748
michael.duffey@marquette.edu
Dr. Daniel Maguire Daniel C. Maguire, S.T.D. (Theological Ethics, Cross-Cultural Ethics)
Professor
Marquette Hall 324; (414) 288-5508
daniel.maguire@marquette.edu
Rev. Bryan Massingale Rev. Bryan N. Massingale, S.T.D. (Catholic Moral Theology, African American Religious Ethics)
Professor
Marquette Hall 319; (414) 288-3737
bryan.massingale@marquette.edu
Rev. Philip J. Rossi, S.J. Rev. Philip J. Rossi, S.J., Ph.D. (Philosophical Theology, Ethics, Immanuel Kant)
Professor
Marquette Hall 314; (414) 288-3738
philip.rossi@marquette.edu
FACULTY EMERITI
Rev. David M. Coffey, S.T.D.
 Rev. Michael A. Fahey, S.J.
Bishop Alexander Golitzin
Rev. D. Thomas Hughson, S.J., Ph.D.
Rev. William J. Kelly, S.J., S.T.D.
Paul Misner, Dr.Theol.
John J. Schmitt, Ph.D.

 

 

 


SITE MENU

Theology Department Mission Statement

Theology Department Mission Statement


Marquette University defines itself as Christian, Catholic, Jesuit, urban, and independent. The Department of Theology functions within the university to investigate and understand the Catholic tradition, its relation to other Christian communions, and to other religions of the world. Read more of our mission statement.