Marquette University

JUDAISM AND CHRISTIANITY IN ANTIQUITY          Section Description

Dr. Joshua Burns Joshua Ezra Burns, Ph.D. (Hebrew Bible, Classical Judaism)
Assistant Professor
Coughlin Hall 207; (414) 288-6776
joshua.burns@marquette.edu
Dr. Deirdre Dempsey Deirdre A. Dempsey, Ph.D. (Old Testament, Languages)
Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies
Wehr Physics Building 426; (414) 288-3747
deirdre.dempsey@marquette.edu
Dr. Julian Hills Julian V. Hills, Th.D. (New Testament, Johannine Literature)
Associate Professor
Coughlin Hall 221; (414) 288-3776
julian.hills@marquette.edu
Rev. William Kurz, S.J. Rev. William S. Kurz, S.J., Ph.D. (New Testament, Johannine Literature)
Professor
Coughlin Hall 103; (414) 288-7148
william.kurz@marquette.edu
Andrei A. Orlov, Ph.D. (Christian Origins, Pseudepigrapha, Enoch)
Professor
Coughlin Hall 209; (414) 288-6802
andrei.orlov@marquette.edu
Dr. Sharon Pace Sharon Pace, Ph.D. (Hebrew Bible)
Associate Professor
Coughlin Hall 206A; (414) 288-7503
sharon.pace@marquette.edu
HISTORICAL THEOLOGY        
Michel R. Barnes, Ph.D. (Greek and Latin Patristics, Augustine, Gregory of Nyssa)
Associate Professor
Coughlin Hall 101; (414) 288-3735
michel.barnes@marquette.edu
Dr. Patrick Carey Patrick W. Carey, Ph.D. (Catholicism in America, Orestes Brownson)
Professor, William J. Kelly, S.J., Chair in Catholic Theology
Coughlin Hall 110; (414) 288-7189
patrick.carey@marquette.edu
Dr. Mark Johnson Mark F. Johnson, Ph.D. (Thomas Aquinas, Medieval Moral Theology)
Associate Professor
Coughlin Hall 213; (414) 288-7646
mark.johnson@marquette.edu
Dr. Ulrich Lehner Ulrich L. Lehner, Dr. Theol. (Early Modern Church History, Theology, and Philosophy)
Associate Professor
Coughlin Hall 117; (414) 288-7333
ulrich.lehner@marquette.edu
Dr. Mickey L. Mattox

Mickey L. Mattox, Ph.D. (Reformation Studies, Martin Luther)

Associate Professor
Coughlin Hall 102; (414) 288-3736
mickey.mattox@marquette.edu

Dr. Marcus Plested Marcus Plested, D.Phil. (Patristic, Byzantine, and Modern Orthodox Theology)
Associate Professor
Coughlin Hall 116
marcus.plested@marquette.edu
Dr. Saint-Laurent Jeanne-Nicole Saint-Laurent, Ph.D. (Syriac Studies, Early Christianity)
Assistant Professor
Coughlin Hall 207
jeannenicole.saint-laurent@marquette.edu
Rev. David Schultenover, S.J. Rev. David G. Schultenover, S.J., Ph.D. (Roman Catholic Modernism, Post-Enlightenment)
Professor
Wehr Physics Building 425; (414) 288-3165
david.schultenover@marquette.edu
Dr. Zemler-Cizewski Wanda Zemler-Cizewski, Ph.D. (Medieval Scholastic Theology, Twelfth Century)
Associate Professor, Library Coordinator
Coughlin Hall 113; (414) 288-3741
wanda.cizewski@marquette.edu
SYSTEMATIC THEOLOGY          Section Description
Dr. Lyle Dabney D. Lyle Dabney, D.Theol. (Pneumatology, Theological Anthropology)
Associate Professor
Coughlin Hall 207A; (414) 288-3744
lyle.dabney@marquette.edu
Rev. Robert M. Doran, S.J., Ph.D. (Systematic Theology, Method, Bernard Lonergan)
Professor, Emmett Doerr Chair in Catholic Systematic Theology
Wehr Physics 423; (414) 288-3164
robert.doran@marquette.edu
Fr. John Laurance SJ Rev. John D. Laurance, S.J., Ph.D. (Liturgical Studies)
Associate Professor
Coughlin Hall 208; (414) 288-3734
john.laurance@marquette.edu
Dr. D. Stephen Long

D. Stephen Long, Ph.D. (Systematic Theology, Theology and Postmodernity, Theology and Economics, the Theology of Karl Barth and Hans Urs von Balthasar, Theological Politics)
Professor
Coughlin Hall 212; (414) 288-3215
d.stephen.long@marquette.edu

Dr Masson Robert L. Masson, Ph.D. (Philosophical Theology, Fundamental Theology, Systematics, Karl Rahner)
Associate Professor
Coughlin Hall 211; (414) 288-6952
robert.masson@marquette.edu
Rev. Joseph G. Mueller, S.J., S.T.D. (Ecclesiology, Patristics)
Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Students
Coughlin Hall 220; (414) 288-6884
joseph.mueller@marquette.edu
Dr. Danielle Nussberger Danielle K. Nussberger, Ph.D. (Systematic Theology, Hans Urs von Balthasar)
Assistant Professor
Coughlin Hall 220; (414) 288-3749
danielle.nussberger@marquette.edu
Fr. Joseph Ogbonnaya Joseph Ogbonnaya, Ph.D. (Lonergan's Philosophy and Theology, World Christianity, Theology and Development)
Assistant Professor
Coughlin Hall, 114; (414) 288-7647
joseph.ogbonnaya@marquette.edu
Dr. Irfan A. Omar Irfan A. Omar, Ph.D. (Islam, World Religions)
Associate Professor, Assistant Department Chair
Coughlin Hall 210; (414) 288-3746
irfan.omar@marquette.edu
Dr. Jame Schaefer Jame Schaefer, Ph.D. (Theology, the Natural Sciences, and Technology; Religious Foundations for Ecological Ethics)
Associate Professor
Coughlin Hall 115; (414) 288-3742
jame.schaefer@marquette.edu
Fr. John Thiede SJ Rev. John S. Thiede, S.J., Ph.D. (Christology, Latin American Theology, Martyrdom)
Assistant Professor
Coughlin Hall 104; (414) 288-7156
john.thiede@marquette.edu
Dr. Susan K. Wood, SCL Susan K. Wood, SCL, Ph.D. (Ecclesiology, Ecumenism, Sacramental Theology)
Professor, Department Chair
Coughlin Hall 100A; (414) 288-1967
susan.wood@marquette.edu
THEOLOGICAL ETHICS         
Michael K. Duffey, Ph.D. (Social Ethics, Peace and Justice Issues)
Associate Professor
Coughlin Hall 218; (414) 288-3748
michael.duffey@marquette.edu
Dr. Daniel Maguire Daniel C. Maguire, S.T.D. (Theological Ethics, Cross-Cultural Ethics)
Professor
Coughlin Hall 215; (414) 288-5508
daniel.maguire@marquette.edu
Rev. Bryan Massingale Rev. Bryan N. Massingale, S.T.D. (Catholic Moral Theology, African American Religious Ethics)
Professor
Coughlin Hall 105; (414) 288-3737
bryan.massingale@marquette.edu
Rev. Philip J. Rossi, S.J. Rev. Philip J. Rossi, S.J., Ph.D. (Philosophical Theology, Ethics, Immanuel Kant)
Professor
Coughlin Hall 106; (414) 288-3738
philip.rossi@marquette.edu
FACULTY EMERITI
Rev. David M. Coffey, S.T.D.
 Rev. Michael A. Fahey, S.J.
Bishop Alexander Golitzin
Kenneth G. Hagen, Th.D.
Rev. D. Thomas Hughson, S.J., Ph.D.
Rev. William J. Kelly, S.J., S.T.D.
Paul Misner, Th.D.
John J. Schmitt, Ph.D.

 

 

 


SITE MENU

Theology Department Mission Statement

Theology Department Mission Statement


Marquette University defines itself as Christian, Catholic, Jesuit, urban, and independent. The Department of Theology functions within the university to investigate and understand the Catholic tradition, its relation to other Christian communions, and to other religions of the world. Read more of our mission statement.