Nov. 2, 2009 Facebook users are receiving scam e-mails designed to steal account usernames, passwords and other sensitive information.
- A message says that the user’s password has been reset as a security precaution. When the user clicks on the attachment containing the new password, a malicious program is downloaded and compromises the computer.
Remember: Facebook will never send you a new password as an e-mail attachment.
- A second message invites users to use a new login procedure. The username is already filled in and it asks for the password. Users are then told to download an update which installs malicious code on the user’s computer.
What can I do about it?
Please contact the IT Services Help Desk at (414) 288-7799 for more information.