Ralph E. Metcalfe Chair

Past Chair Holders and Host Departments

Dr. Ronald Johnson School of Dentistry Spring, 1982

Honorable George N. Leighton Law School Spring, 1982

Dr. Gordon L. Berry College of Speech Fall, 1982

Dr. Robert A. Eubanks Department of Civil Engineering Fall & Spring, 1982-83

Dr. Albert J. Raboteau Department of Theology Spring, 1983

Dr. William A. Guillory Department of Chemistry Spring, 1983

Dr. Laurence Thomas Department of Philosophy Fall, 1983

Dr. Molefi Asante College of Speech Spring, 1984

Dr. Kenneth Clark Department of Political Science Fall, 1984

Mr. Derrick A. Bell Law School Spring, 1985

Dr. Nell I. Painter Department of History Spring, 1985 Dr. Trevor E. Sewell School of Education Fall, 1985

Dr. Daniel L. Wheat Department of Civil Engineering Fall, 1985

Dr. Benjamin Hammond School of Dentistry Spring, 1986

Dr. William Julius Wilson Department of Social and Cultural Sciences Spring, 1986

Dr. Raphael Cassimere, Jr. Department of History Fall, 1986

MS. Phyllis Garland College of Journalism Spring, 1987

Dr. Rueben T. Harris Department of Naval Science Fall, 1987

Dr. Peter J. Paris Department of Theology Fall, 1987

Dr. Michael B. Preston Department of Political Science Spring, 1988

Dr. Juliet E. K. Walker Department of History Fall, 1988

Dr. Isaiah M. Warner Department of Chemistry Fall, 1988 Dr. Charles V. Hamilton Department of Political Science Spring, 1989

Dr. George V. Guy School of Education Spring, 1989

Dr. John A. McLean Department of Chemistry Spring, 1990

Drs. Charles and Ronnie Ann Blakeney, Jr. Department of Psychology Fall, 1990

Dr. Joe William Trotter, Jr. Department of History Spring, 1991

Dr. Clifton O. Dummett School of Dentistry Fall, 1991

Dr. Theresa Perry School of Education Fall, 1991

Dr. Lee Etta Powell School of Education Fall, 1992

Dr. Deborah Gray White Department of History Spring, 1993

Mr. Chinua Achebe Educational Opportunity Program (Ronald E. McNair) and Department of Political Science Spring, 1993 Dr. Slayton A. Evans, Jr. Department of Chemistry Spring, 1994

Dr. Cornel West Educational Opportunity Program (Ronald E. McNair), ASMU, & Campus Community Fund Fall, 1994

Dr. Glen Loury Department of Political Science Fall, 1995

Dr. Arnold Mitchem Department of History Spring, 1996

Dr. Lily Golden Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures Spring, 1997

Dr. Daryl Scott Department of History Spring, 1997

Ms. Felicia Mabuzza Suttle Alumni Relations Fall, 1997

The Reverend Dr. Cyprian Davis, OSB Department of Theology Fall, 1997

Dr. Albert J. Raboteau Department of Theology Spring, 1999

Dr. Joel Ducoste Department of Civil Engineering 2000

Dr. Mbare Ngom Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures Spring, 2001 Dr. Karl D. Self School of Dentistry 2004-05

Dr. Juan E. Gilbert Computer Science Spring, 2006

Dr. Lewis Gordon Department of Philosophy Fall, 2006

Dr. William A. Guillory 2007

Dr. Courtney Lyder College of Nursing Spring, 2012

Dr. Lorraine Fleming College of Engineering Spring, 2012

Dr. Robert Warrior Department of English Fall, 2012

Mr. Richard Blackett Department of History Fall, 2012

Mr. A. Van Jordan Department of English Spring, 2013

Dr. Imani Perry, College of Education Spring, 2014

Dr. Khalil G. Muhammad Department of History Spring, 2014

Dr. Dr. Linda Martin Alcoff Department of Philosophy Spring, 2014

Dr. William Perez College of Education, Department of Psychology Spring, 2016 Ms. Sheryll Cashan Raynor Memorial Library Law School Spring, 2016

Dr. Willie May Office of Research and Innovation Fall, 2016

Dr. Maria Yellow Horse Brave Heart Fall, 2017

Ms. Michel Martin Raynor Memorial Library Diederich College of Communication Spring, 2017

Ms. Bree Newsome/Rev. Jim Wallis Office of Mission and Ministry Spring, 2017

Dr. Leith Mullings Fall, 2018

Dr. Barbara Ransby Spring, 2019

Ms. Rhiannon Giddens Center for Teaching and Learning, MU Black Alumni Association, and Center for the Advancement of the Humanities Spring, 2021

Ms. Tayari Jones Raynor Memorial Libraries Spring, 2021

Dr. Lisa Blee/Dr. Jean M. O'Brien Department of History Spring, 2021

Dr. Davarian Baldwin Spring, 2022

Dr. Imani Perry College of Education Spring, 2022